Latest News

Holiday closing

The library will be closed Monday, September 5, in observance of Labor Day.

Downloadable Media

Children's/Young Adult Book Awards 2016 Print
Active Image The American Library Association has announced the major children's book award winners for 2016.

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena won the Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature, while Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear, illustrated Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick, received the Caldecott Medal, for most distinguished American picture book for children.

Also, Bone Gap by Laura Ruby earned the Printz Award, for excellence in literature written for young adults; and author David Levithan received the Margaret A. Edwards Award, for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.

For more information on all the winners and other finalists, visit the Book Awards page on the American Library Association web site.

Active Image Newbery Honor books include: The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley; Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson; and Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan.

Four Caldecott Honor books also were named: Trombone Shorty, illustrated Bryan Collier and written by Troy Andrews; Waiting, illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes; Voice of Freedom, illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Carole Boston Weatherford; and Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson and written by Matt de la Pena.

Printz Award Honor books include: Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez, and The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick. blue was designed 2006 by Karsten Oltrogge:
Homepage of Karsten Oltrogge: