Latest News arrow Events arrow Library News arrow National Book Award 2015 Winners

Downloadable Media


Ask a Librarian

National Book Award 2015 Winners Print

Active ImageTa-Nehisi Coates dedicated his recent National Book Award for nonfiction for Between the World and Me to his college friend, Prince Jones, who was killed 15 years ago by police when he was mistaken for a criminal.

"I'm a black man in America. I can't punish that officer," Coates said during his acceptance speech. "I can't secure the safety of my son. [But] I do have the power to say you won't enroll me in this lie. You won't make me a part of it."

In the book, Coates takes readers along on his journey through America's history of race and its contemporary resonances through a series of personal awakenings.

The award for fiction went to Fortune Smiles: Stories by Adam Johnson. The collection of stories delves deeply into love, loss, the decisions we make for ourselves, and the decisions we make for others.

Other winners included Neal Shusterman for Challenger Deep in the young people's literatury category. and Robin Coste Lewis for Voyage of the Sable Venus for poetry.

Active ImageThe National Book Foundation also presented its 2014 Medal for Distinguised Contribution to American Letters to Ursula K. Le Guin in recognition of his outstanding achievement in fiction writing. 

This year's fiction finalists were: An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine; All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr; Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel; and Lila by Marilynne Robinson.

The finalists for nonfiction were Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast; No Good Men Among the Living by Anand Gopal; Tennessee Williams by John Lahr; and The Meaning of Human Existence by Edward O. Wilson.

The poetry finalists included Second Childhood by Fanny Howe; This Blue by Maureen N. McLane; The Feel Trio by Fred Moten; and Citizen by Claudia Rankine.

And the finalists for young people's literature are Threatened by Eliot Schrefer; The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin; Noggin by John Corey Whaley; and Revolution by Deborah Wiles. blue was designed 2006 by Karsten Oltrogge:
Homepage of Karsten Oltrogge: