National Book Award 2014 Winners
Active ImagePhil Klay returned home with all types of questions he could not answer following 13 months in the Marines in Iraq. To think everything through, he wrote Redeployment, which won the National Book Award for fiction.

"War is too strange to be procesed alone,'' Klay said at the award ceremony, "so I want to thank everyone who picked up the book, read it and decided to join the conversation."

The book consists of a series of stories revealing the intricate combination of monotony, bureaucracy, comradeship and violence that make up a soldier's daily life at war, and the isolation, remorse and despair that can accompany a soldier's homecoming.

The award for nonfiction went to Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China by Evan Osnos. The author looks at the clash taking place in China between the rise of the individual and the Communist Party's struggle to retain control.

Other winners included Jacqueline Woodson for Brown Girl Dreaming in the young people's literatury category. and Louise Gluck for Faithful and Virtuous Night for poetry.

Active ImageThe National Book Foundation also presented its 2014 Medal for Distinguised Contribution to American Letters to Ursula K. Le Guin in recognition of his outstanding achievement in fiction writing. 

This year's fiction finalists were: An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine; All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr; Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel; and Lila by Marilynne Robinson.

The finalists for nonfiction were Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast; No Good Men Among the Living by Anand Gopal; Tennessee Williams by John Lahr; and The Meaning of Human Existence by Edward O. Wilson.

The poetry finalists included Second Childhood by Fanny Howe; This Blue by Maureen N. McLane; The Feel Trio by Fred Moten; and Citizen by Claudia Rankine.

And the finalists for young people's literature are Threatened by Eliot Schrefer; The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin; Noggin by John Corey Whaley; and Revolution by Deborah Wiles.